REGISTRY REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDERS
June 11, 2016
Michigan law calls for sex offenders to be registered in three tiers, based on the crime committed, their risk of reoffending and their perceived danger to the public. For example, Level 1 offenders have a low risk of committing future crimes and pose a minimal public safety risk. Each tier has different requirements, particularly concerning registration and reporting.
All offenders must report, in person, to law enforcement officers on a scheduled basis. Level 3 offenders have the most rigorous reporting schedule. They must report during the first 15 days of the months of October, July, April and January in order to confirm their addresses. Level 2 offenders must report in January and July, while Level 1 offenders must report once a year in January.
Offenders convicted of a Level 3 offense are required to register as a sex offender for the rest of their lives. Level 2 offenders must register for 25 years, and Level 1 for 15 years.
Public sentiment is united regarding registration of Level 3 offenders because of how dangerous they may be. However, some authorities believe that Level 1 offenders should not be required to register because they experience the same type of fear and discrimination as Level 3 offenders, even though they do not pose the same risk.
Type of information collected
The requirements for sex offender registries are becoming increasingly personal. Offenders must often register their social media accounts such as Twitter and Facebook accounts. They also must register any email addresses and all phone numbers they are associated with, including work and personal numbers. The police claim that this allows them to contact the registered offenders as quickly as possible.
Having to register as a sex offender has serious consequences in Michigan. Anyone charged with a sex crime in Michigan should contact a criminal law attorney to ensure protected staunch defense against the charges.